Lakeside Hammers

Alongside the Dartford Tunnel,  Lakeside, or Arena Essex as it was known, were founded in 1984.

One of the most unusual features of the track for many years - up until 1991 - was the fact it had no safety fence, with the outside stock car track acting as a run-off area.


Lakeside Hammers in action


Nickname: Hammers
Club Colours: Claret, Blue and White
Track Size: 265 metres
Track Record: 56.8 seconds, Andreas Jonsson (May 30, 2008)
Facilities: Main bar on first bend, with upstairs viewing. Back straight fast food and toilets, other fast food outlets
Founded: 1984

Contact details

Track address:
Arena-Essex Raceway
A1306 Arterial Road
RM19 1AE

View Map

Telephone: 01708 863443

Previous top riders

  • Leigh Adams
  • Kelvin Tatum
  • Peter Ravn
  • Josh Larsen
  • Alan Mogridge
  • Leigh Lanham
  • Andreas Jonsson
  • Brian Karger
  • Bo Petersen
  • Rob Ledwith
  • Jan Pedersen
  • Lee Richardson

Lakeside Hammers news

Adam Ellis (blue) and Richard Lawson (red) impressed for Hammers at Leicester (pic: Rob Newell/TGSPHOTO)

Hammers tame Lions

Elite League: Leicester 39 Lakeside Hammers 51

Read full story »


  • British League Division Two Champions - 1991
  • British League Division Two Cup winners - 1991
  • British League Division Two Four Team champions - 1991


Stuart Douglas, Jon Cook and Neil Vatcher


Neil Vatcher